LANCASHIRE COMBINED FIRE AUTHORITY

Meeting to be held on 28 June 2021

APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRMEN AND VICE-CHAIRMEN OF COMMITTEES Appendices 1 and 2 refer

Contact for further information:

Diane Brooks - Principal Member Services Officer - Tel No 01772 866720

Executive Summary

The appointment of Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen of Committees of the Combined Fire Authority and associated matters which include the consideration of the draft Terms of Reference for the Service Headquarters Working Group.

Recommendation

The Authority is asked: -

- 1. To confirm nominations from the Chairman for the appointments of Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen to the following Committees for 2021/22:
 - a. Appeals Committee
 - b. Audit Committee
 - c. Performance Committee
 - d. Planning Committee
 - e. Resources Committee
- 2. To confirm that the Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Authority are the Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Strategy Group for 2021/22.
- 3. To confirm the appointment of a Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Member Training and Development Working Group for 2021/22.
- 4. To confirm the appointment of a Chairman of the Injury Pensions Sub-Committee for 2021/22.
- 5. To confirm the appointment of a Chairman of the Service Headquarters Working Group for 2021/22 and consider and approve its Terms of Reference.
- 6. To confirm the appointment of the four Member Champions for 2021/22.

Information

The Authority usually determines its Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen of Committees on an annual basis. However, in line with the Coronavirus Act 2020 and subsequent Local Authorities and Police and Crime Panels (Coronavirus) (Flexibility of Local Authority and Police and Crime Panel Meetings) (England and Wales) Regulations 2020, responsibilities were carried forward from the municipal year 2019/20 to 2020/21.

Standing Order 5.1 (b) of the Authority's Constitutional and Procedural Standing Orders require the Authority at its annual meeting to appoint a Chairman and Vice-Chairman for each Committee created under Standing Order 4.1(a).

The Authority is asked to consider Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen appointments for 2021/22 (as proposed in appendix 1) for the:

- 1. Appeals Committee;
- 2. Audit Committee;
- 3. Performance Committee;
- 4. Planning Committee;
- 5. Resources Committee;
- 6. Member Training and Development Working Group.

The Authority is asked to consider Chairmen appointments for 2021/22 for the:

- 1. Resources Sub-Committee for Injury Pensions;
- 2. Service Headquarters Relocation Working Group

In addition, the Authority is asked to consider and approve the draft terms of reference (attached as appendix 2) for the Service Headquarters Relocation Working Group.

Lastly, the Authority is asked to consider appointments to Member Champions roles for the areas of:

- i) Community Safety;
- ii) Equality, Diversity and Inclusion;
- iii) Health & Wellbeing; and
- iv) Road Safety.

Business Risk

The Authority's Standing Orders require the appointment of Chairmen and Vice-Chairmen for each of its Committees.

Environmental Impact

None

Equality and Diversity Implications

None

HR Implications

None

Financial Implications

Payment of Allowances is in accordance with the Combined Fire Authority's Members' Allowance Scheme.

Local Government (Access to Information) Act 1985 List of Background Papers

Paper CFA Constitutional & Procedural Standing Orders	Date 22 February 2021	Contact Diane Brooks Principal Member Services Officer	
Coronavirus Act 2020, s78 Local Authority meetings	25 March 2020		
The Local Authorities and Police and Crime Panels (Coronavirus) (Flexibility of Local Authority and Police and Crime Panel Meetings) (England and Wales) Regulations 2020	4 April 2020		
Reason for inclusion in Part II, if appropriate: N/A			

Proposed appointments for the municipal year 2021/22: -

1. Committees

(i) Appeals	Chairman Vice-Chairman	County Councillor P Britcliffe (CON) County Councillor M Pattison (LAB)
(ii) Audit	Chairman Vice-Chairman	County Councillor J Shedwick (CON) County Councillor F De Molfetta (LAB)
(iii) Performance	Chairman Vice-Chairman	County Councillor K Iddon (CON) County Councillor P Rigby (CON)
(iv) Planning	Chairman Vice-Chairman	County Councillor G Mirfin (CON) County Councillor S Clarke (CON)
(v) Resources	Chairman Vice-Chairman	Councillor T Williams (CON) County Councillor D O'Toole (CON)

2. Member Training and Development Working Group for 2021/22

Chairman County Councillor S Morris (CON)

Vice-Chairman Councillor D Smith (LAB)

3. Injury Pensions Sub-Committee for 2021/22

Chairman County Councillor S Serridge (LAB)

4. <u>Service Headquarters Relocation Working Group 2021/22</u>

Chairman County Councillor D O'Toole (CON)

5. Member Champions for 2021/22

- Community Safety Councillor Jean Rigby (CON)
- Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Councillor Zamir Khan (LAB)
- Health & Wellbeing County Councillor Andrea Kay (CON)
- Road Safety County Councillor Ron Woollam (CON)